June 6 2016

'Mary Poppins' Cast and Crew Nominated for Eight Awards


Burlington High School’s drama students have once again proven just how talented they are. 


According to a post in Principal Mark Sullivan’s blog, those behind the production of Mary Poppins have been nominated for a number of awards. 


“Congratulations to the Cast and Crew of Mary Poppins, which has been nominated for 8 Massachusetts Educational Theatre Guild Inc. (MET) Musical Awards,” Sullivan wrote. 


The award nominations are:

  • • Best Prop Design & Management
  • • Best Stage Management; Connor Pustizzi
  • • Best Specialty Ensemble "Step in Time"
  • • Best Featured Actress; Laura Frustaci
  • • Best Leading Actress; Miranda Russo
  • • Best Leading Actor; Steven Gelberg
  • • Best Acting Ensemble
  • • Best Dance Ensemble


The MET Musical Awards is an educational program sponsored by Broadway in Boston and run by the METG as a way of recognizing outstanding performance and production values as displayed by Massachusetts high schools and middle schools during the course of the theater season. 


BHS submitted their shows for consideration to a panel of experienced theater adjudicators who evaluate each participating production and score them in a number of performance and design categories based on standard scoring criteria, Sullivan explained.  Educational comments are returned to the directors to share with their students in order to improve scholastic programs. Scores are tabulated at season's end with the top scores in each category receiving a MET Award Nomination and the top score receiving the MET Award at the annual ceremony


The award ceremony is on June 13th, ticket information has been sent to parents, staff, and crew. You can contact the BHS Music Department for additional information regarding tickets.

Web Design by Polar Design