February 17 2020

School Committee Only Town-Wide Seat Contested in Upcoming Town Election

By: Rich Hosford

The ballot is set for the Burlington Town Election and only one town-wide race is competitive. 


Last Friday, February 14 was the deadline for potential candidates in the election to return their paperwork. Assuming none drop out of the race, which they have until March 3 to do and have their name removed, we now know which races are competitive and which are not. 


As it turns out, only the race for School Committee is competitive. There are two seats up and four candidates vying to fill them. Incumbent Stephen Nelson has returned papers as have newcomers Katherine Bond, Carl Foss and Adam Senesi. Incumbent Kristin Russo took out papers but did not file them with the Town Clerk's office before the deadline. 


The other races will mostly see incumbents go unchallenged. They include William Beyer for Moderator and Jim Tigges for Board of Selectmen. Incumbents Ernest Covino and William Gaffney will also run unchallenged for the Planning Board. Library Trustee incumbents Hiral Gandhi and Adam Woodbury will be unchallenged, as will Board of Health member Maribeth Welch and Recreation Commission Member Kevin Sullivan. 


Non-incumbent Kevin Sheehan will be unchallenged for the open Assessor seat. Brenda Rappaport, who was appointed to the Planning Board after member Jack Kelly resigned, will run uncontested to fill the remaining two years of that seat. 

There are some contested Town Meeting races that you can see here along with the full list of candidates.


 The Burlington Town Election will be held on Saturday, April 4 at Burlington High School. Polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.


Web Design by Polar Design