April 6 2019

Burlington Voters Elect Two Challengers and Pass Ballot Question

By: Rich Hosford

The results for the Burlington Town Election 2019 are in and there will be two new faces in Town Government and the way the town chooses its next Treasurer/Tax Collector has changed.


In the race for the two open seats on the Burlington Board of Selectmen challenger Nick Priest beat out two-term incumbent Chris Hartling with 1,675 vote to 1,377. Incumbent Robert Hogan was re-elected to a to a third term with 1,415 votes.


In the Planning Board race incumbent Carol Perna was beat out by challenger and Board of Appeals member Mike Espejo. In total Espejo garnered 1,589 votes to Perna’s 888.


The Ballot Question to change the Treasurer/Tax Collector position from elected to appointed passed by 1,565 votes in favor to 1,038 vote against. Incumbent Treasurer/Tax Collector Brian Curtin, who has been in the position for over four decades, was on the ballot unopposed and will continue in the position in the interim. According to Town Clerk Amy Warfield the Board of Selectmen have between three months and two years to make an appointment under state law.


Warfield and her staff are currently working on getting the rest of the results and will post them to the town’s website Burlington.org when they become available.


In the Constable race incumbents William Pepicelli and Anthony Saia held onto their positions with 1,367 and 1,447 votes respectively. Challenger Dennis Otis came up slightly short with 1,332 votes.


In Town Meeting Precinct 1 there were seven candidates for six seats. The winners were Brad Bond, Gregory Ryan, Maureen Monaco Ryan, Robert Sears, Joseph Calandrelli and Brenda Lynn Rappaport. Jayashree Voruganti did not garner enough votes to win a seat.


In Town Meeting Precinct 2 there were seven candidates for six seats. The winners were Doug Davison, Angela Hanafin, Daniel Hanafin, Patricia O’Brien, Cynthia Phillips and Edward Dube. Peter Lewis came in seventh place.


Town Meeting Precinct 3 also had seven candidates for six seats. The winners were Sean Connors, Shari Lynn Ellis, Steven Morin, Faydeen Sateriale, Andrew Wells-Bean and Brian Pupa.

All the other races were uncontested. For those results visit Burlington.org.


You can also watch our Live Election Coverage on our BCAT Facebook page.


Editor's note: A previous edition of this story said a race for Town Meeting Precinct 2 for a one-year seat was competitive. It was not. In fact there were two open one-year seats and both Heidi Brosnan and Amanda Laskowski were elected.


Web Design by Polar Design