July 2 2020

Gov. Baker Eases Quarantine Advisory for Visitors from Area States

By: Rich Hosford

The restrictions on visitors from some states have been eased. 


Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker announced on Tuesday that people traveling from seven nearby states, Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York and New Jersey, no longer are subject to a 14-day quarantine advisory when coming into the Commonwealth. 


He said the change reflects a recognition that people in those states have been adhering to social distancing and mask wearing guidelines people in Massachusetts have observed since the start of an emergency order in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. 


Visitors from outside the neighboring seven states should still comply with the 14-day quarantine, the governor said. This does not apply to workers deemed essential coming into the state for work purposes. 


Web Design by Polar Design