December 31 2019

State AG Provides Resources for Workers to Ensure Compliance with New Minimum Wage

By: BNEWS

Anyone making minimum wage will see a boost in their pay starting in the New Year thanks to a new law and the State Attorney General is offering services for anyone who believes they are being cheated.

 

Attorney General Maura Healey is reminding the public and Massachusetts employers that the state’s minimum wage will increase to $12 per hour beginning on Jan. 1, 2019, a release states.

 

“My office’s Fair Labor Division is issuing this reminder to make sure workers know their rights and employers know their obligations under the law,” AG Healey said. “We remain dedicated to protecting the economic security of Massachusetts workers and their families through education, outreach, and enforcement actions.”

 

The new minimum wage comes from a June 2018 decision by the Massachusetts Legislature that passed a statute that set the minimum wage to increase each year until it reaches $15 in 2023. The first increase begins this year with an increase to $12 per hour. Also effective Jan. 1, tipped employees (those who receive more than $20 a month in tips) must be paid a minimum of $4.35 per hour provided that, with tips, the employee receives at least $12 per hour. If the total hourly rate for the employee including tips does not equal $12 at the end of the shift, the employer must make up the difference.

 

The state’s highest legal authority said she wants to make sure all businesses comply with the new minimum wage.

 

“The AG’s Office is dedicated to ensuring that every worker earns at least the minimum wage for every hour worked,” the release reads.

 

Workers who believe that their rights have been violated in the workplace can file a complaint at www.mass.gov/ago/wagetheft, or call the office’s Fair Labor Hotline at (617) 727-3465. More information about the state’s wage and hour laws is also available in multiple languages at www.mass.gov/ago/fairlabor.

 

 
Web Design by Polar Design