Election News, News Stories

Burlington Town Election Ballot Set – Competitive School Committee and Board of Health Races

We now know who is running for office in Burlington’s 2022 Town Election. 

Last Friday was the deadline for candidates to return the necessary signatures to the Town Clerk’s office so the ballots are now set and a couple of long-term public servants have decided not to run again this year. 

In the School Committee race there are two open seats and three people have returned papers to be on the ballot. They are incumbent Christine Monaco, first elected in 1992, and challengers Jeremy Paul Brooks and Melissa Anne Massardo. Incumbent Thomas Murphy, first elected in 1995, did not return papers. 

The only other town-wide race that is competitive is for the Board of Health. Incumbent Dr. Ed Weiner, first elected in 1989, is running to keep his seat. Two challengers, Janice Cohen and Gayle Damore, have also returned papers. Longtime member Dr. Wayne Saltsman, first elected in 2007, is not running for reelection. 

Uncontested town-wide races include incumbent Moderator Bill Beyer, incumbent Assessor Catherine O’Neil, incumbent Planning Board Members Barbara L’Heureux and Brenda Rappaport, incumbent Library Trustee Robert Neufeld, incumbent Constable William Pepicelli and new comer Dennis Otis, and Recreation Commission Member Stephen Nelson. 

There are also two people on the ballot for two open seats on the Select Board – incumbent Nick Priest and newcomer Mike Espejo, a current member of the Planning Board. 

The only competitive race for Town Meeting is in Precinct 6 where there are seven candidates for six open seats. 

Click Here for the full list of candidates. 

The 2022 Burlington Town Election will be held on Saturday, April 9 and the polls will be located at Burlington High School. As with all town elections the polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.